jump to navigation

Fido means faithful in Latin. January 28, 2010

Posted by tyjorg in What I Learned Tonight.
trackback

What I learned tonight is Fido means faithful in Latin. You might be saying to your self that this makes a lot of sense because dogs are so faithful. That is not true however. I can prove this by saying I have never met a dog named Fido. Maybe you have, but not me. Is there even a country that speaks Latin? I can’t think of one, can you? Due to that fact that I can’t think of one country that speaks Latin and due to the fact Fido is Latin and due to the fact I don’t know any dog named Fido, how can Fido even mean anything in Latin. It is not like I can go to the country of Lat and ask someone. I Google Lat and got some big American news paper trying to tell me they are the leading source of news. What I am looking for is the leading source of Latin. The next question is, what does Fido mean in English? What I did was Googled it, I mean we google everything, right? This is what it means, “a coin having a minting error” (http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/FIDO). Wow, no wonder Latin is so cool they take a word and say it means faithful and we take a word and say it means that the Denver Mint messed it up again. Good work Mother British, great language you have given us. Or is it Mother England? It seems lately I will look at a coin and be like wow this one has a major minting error, such a waste of time using all those words. All I need to say is “Fido” and you will all know what I am talking about. They say that texting while driving is dangerous, try driving while looking for fidos now that’s hard, I do not recommend this.

What have we learned from this? We learned that Latin is much more cool than English. We have solved many problems for the United States of America. It seems like everyone is arguing over language, English our national language or is Spanish ok to speak? Well I solved it, let’s use Latin! Let me put it this way, would you rather say to your wife “Thanks for being faithful” or “gratiae namque fido”. Or put it this way, would you rather have your husband be faithful or fido? For a while until this whole Latin thing catches on she might slap you and think you are making fun of your dog, Fido. Or she might say “Yeah that Denver mint sure don’t make coins like they use to.” Well I hope you enjoyed your Latin lesson today, please come back often as my blog from this day forth will be written 100% in Latin.

This was dedicated to the people of Lat.

Comments»

1. Gabriela - January 28, 2010

LOL…yeah this was a fun and interesting post…However, you know there are many countries with Latin based language and to be honest I do find it easier to say what I want in English language…and it is much shorter too…
Keep it up 🙂

Fido

2. Jeff - January 28, 2010

don’t you remeber when we invented the latin language, Ty? Come on! We got Fido from some drunk guy trying to say Friday. There’s everyone’s history lesson. BAM!

3. Heather - January 28, 2010

Phaidaux


Leave a Reply

